Open Agenda

Southwark

Cabinet

Tuesday 28 January 2014 4.00 pm Ground Floor Meeting Room GO1A, 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Supplemental Agenda No. 1

List of Contents

Item No.

Title

Page No.

7.Deputation Requests1 - 3To consider any deputation requests.

Contact

Paula Thornton 020 7525 4395 or Everton Roberts 020 7525 7221 Or email: <u>paula.thornton@southwark.gov.uk</u>; <u>everton.roberts@southwark.gov.uk</u> Webpage: <u>https://www.southwark.gov.uk</u>

Item No. 7.	Classification: Open	Date: 28 January 2014	Meeting Name: Cabinet		
Report title:		Deputation Requests	Deputation Requests		
Ward(s) or groups affected:		All			
From:		Proper Constitutional Officer			

RECOMMENDATION

- 1. That cabinet consider whether to hear a deputation from the Creation Trust and local residents from the Aylesbury Estate in respect of the item on the selection of a preferred partner to work with the council to deliver the regeneration of the Aylesbury Estate contained elsewhere on the agenda.
- 2. That cabinet consider whether to hear a deputation from local residents around Blackfriars Road in respect of the item on the Blackfriars Road supplementary planning document contained elsewhere on the agenda.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

- 3. When considering whether to hear the deputation request, cabinet can decide
 - To receive the deputation at this meeting or a future meeting; or
 - That the deputation not be received; or
 - To refer the deputation to the most appropriate committee/sub-committee.
- 4. A deputation shall consist of no more than six people, including its spokesperson. Only one member of the deputation shall be allowed to address the meeting for no longer than five minutes. After this time cabinet members may ask questions of the deputation for up to five minutes. At the conclusion of the questions, the deputation will be shown to the public area where they may listen to the remainder of the open section of the meeting.

KEY ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION

The Creation Trust and residents from the Aylesbury Estate

5. The deputation state that the residents of the Aylesbury are supportive of the redevelopment of the estate and urge the council to agree the sign off of the development partner. The deputation has advised that the residents have been involved in the consultation processes for over 13 years, including helping to shape the Aylesbury area action plan. During the procurement process they have worked closely with the regeneration team, and the deputation believe that this contract will be the best chance of the delivery of new and affordable homes.

Local residents in the Blackfriars Road

6. The deputation wish to express their concerns about the draft Blackfriars Road supplementary planning document item contained elsewhere on this agenda. The deputation feel that it would have a detrimental impact on the area if adopted in its current form. The deputation have indicated that they welcome the sympathetic development, but are concerned that the document contains provisions, in particular with regard to building heights, that would cause serious damage to the neighbourhood. They have explained that St. George's Circus and the immediate surrounding area form a dense concentration of heritage assets and is also an area of predominantly residential character. The deputation wish to ask the cabinet to require modifications to the content of the SPD.

Community impact statement

7. The Southwark Constitution allows for deputations to be made by groups of people resident or working in the borough.

REASONS FOR URGENCY

8. The deputation requests were received in line with the constitutional deadline for the receipt of deputation requests and are therefore eligible for consideration by cabinet as to whether or not to hear the deputations at this meeting.

REASONS FOR LATENESS

9. The deadline for the receipt of deputation requests was midnight 22 January 2014, after the main cabinet agenda despatch on 20 January 2014. It has therefore not been possible to send out this report five clear days in advance of the meeting.

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS

Background Papers	Held At	Contact		
Cabinet procedure rule 2.11 on deputations (page 163):	160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH	Everton Roberts 020 7525 7221 or Paula Thornton 020 7525 4395		
Link http://www.southwark.gov.uk/downloads/download/133/councils_constitution				

APPENDICES

No.	Title
None	

AUDIT TRAIL

Lead Officer	Ian Millichap, Constitutional Manager					
Report Author	Paula Thornton / Everton Roberts, Constitutional Officers					
Version	Final					
Dated	24 January 2014					
Key Decision?	No					
CONSULTATION WITH OTHER OFFICERS / DIRECTORATES / CABINET						
MEMBER						
Officer Title		Comments Sought	Comments Included			
Director of Legal Services		No	No			
Strategic Director of Finance		No	No			
and Corporate Services						
Cabinet Member		No	No			
Date final report sent to Constitutional Team 24 January 2014			24 January 2014			

This page is intentionally blank.

CABINET AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN)

MUNICIPAL YEAR 2013/14

NOTE: Original held by Constitutional Team; all amendments/queries to Paula Thornton/Everton Roberts Tel: 020 7525 4395/7221

Name	No of	Name	No of
	copies	Hanto	copies
			-
Cabinet Members		Corporate Management Team	
Peter John	1	Eleanor Kelly	1
lan Wingfield	1	Romi Bowen	1
Fiona Colley	1	Deborah Collins	1
Dora Dixon-Fyle	1	Gerri Scott	1
Barrie Hargrove	1	Duncan Whitfield	1
Richard Livingstone	1		
Victoria Mills	1	Officers	
Catherine McDonald	1		
Veronica Ward	1	Doreen Forrester-Brown	1
		Jennifer Seeley	1
Other Councillors		Tue de Uniene	
Oath anima Davanan	4	Trade Unions	
Catherine Bowman	1	Day Fielding CMD	1
Toby Eckersley	1 1	Roy Fielding, GMB	1 1
Neil Coyle Gavin Edwards	1	Henry Mott, Unite	1
Dan Garfield	1	Sue Plain, Unison Neil Tasker, UCATT	1
David Hubber	1	Michael Davern, NUT	1
Lorraine Lauder	1	James Lewis, NASUWT	1
Rebecca Lury	1	Laura Brook, ASCL	1
Paul Noblet	1		1
The Right Revd Emmanuel Oyewole	1	Others	
Geoffrey Thornton	1	Others	
Andy Simmons	1	Robin Campbell, Press Office	1
Tim McNally	1	Paula Thornton, Constitutional Officer	20
Anood Al-Samerai	1		20
		Total:	66
Group Offices			
-		Dated: 5 June 2013 (pt)	
Chris Page, Cabinet Office	1		
Laura Kavanagh, Opposition Group Office	1		
Press			
Southwark News	1		
South London Press	1		
Members of Parliament			
Harriet Harman, MP	1		
Tessa Jowell, MP	1		
Simon Hughes, MP	1		